What is the Penalty, if any?

While playing hole #5, Player A’s ball comes to rest on the fringe of hole #8 putting green. Player A takes his stance carefully on the 8th green and plays the ball into the fairway of the 5th hole.

A: One-Stroke Penalty
B: Two-Stroke Penalty
C: No Penalty
Answer below
Two-Stroke Penalty

Player A gets a penalty of two strokes for playing from a wrong place. Rule 13.1f(2) requires a player to take complete relief from a wrong green when the player has interference for lie of ball, area of intended stance or area of intended swing. See the penalty statement under Rule 13.1.